CEDAW Task Force

Grassroots efforts to implement CEDAW ordinances have grown around the nation and specifically in California, home to the first county level ordinance nearly 20 years ago. Since then, seven cities and counties have passed variations of ordinances and 17 cities and counties have passed resolutions affirming CEDAW. In December 2017 County of Santa Clara became the 9th county in the nation to adopt a resolution affirming CEDAW, and in November 2018 a group of distinguished leaders participated in the first CEDAW Task Force Meeting.

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination (CEDAW) is a treaty of the United Nations adopted in 1979 and since ratified by 197 countries. Along with six other countries the United States remains one of the few which has not. At its foundation, the treaty uses a human rights framework to address gender discrimination addressing issues from gender-based violence to pay equity, housing, education, and civic engagement. Through its 30 articles, which form the basis of CEDAW, the convention calls for data collection and analysis, assessment, and monitoring on key issues that create gender inequality. Ultimately, applying this gender lens allows decision makers to be better informed regarding the impact to women and girls of programs, policies and procedures, because they are analyzed from the gender lens.

The Santa Clara County Commission on the Status of Women has traditionally supported efforts for local implementation and with the Office of Women’s Policy co-hosted the 2007 Regional CEDAW Summit with over 70 stakeholders representing the Bay Area and dozens of local community based organizations. The county’s adoption of the ordinance is the culmination of a decade long process.

CEDAW Task Force Membership:

OWP Director Protima Pandey, Chair

(Vacant Seat), SCC Commission on the Status of Women Appointee

Jaki Joanino, SCC Commission on the Status of Women Appointee

Minjung Kwok, SCC Office of the County Executive Appointee

Stephanie Williams, District 1 Appointee

Perla Flores, District 2 Appointee

Mary Gloner, District 3 Appointee

Meri Maben, District 4 Appointee

Lisa Liddle, Vice Chair, District 5 Appointee


Jessica Schmidt, Clerk of the Board

Julie Wood, Office of Women's Policy

Meeting Dates:

November 28, 2018, 1pm at  Board Chambers- Focus on Women and Housing Needs in Santa Clara County

March 27, 2019, 1pm at Board Chambers- Focus on Women's Economic Development & Security

November 20, 2019, 1pm at Board Chambers

March 24, 2020

November 18, 2020

March 24, 2021

©2022 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.